If you are interested in joining a Staff Association (SA) committee, please contact the committee chair or click on the “Join Now” button next to each committee.

Chair – Tiffany Draper

The Awards & Recognition Committee is dedicated to:

  • Improve  staff members sense of validation for their contributions to DSU by establishing regular recognition through staff awards (employee(s) of the semester and year)
  • Promote recognition of staff members who go above and beyond through the mini trailblazer awards
  • Foster a sense of belonging for staff members by creating an orderly process for nominating peers for the staff employee of the semester and year awards
  • Promote the recognition of staff members by enhancing inclusion and equality through a fair and regular selection process for employee of the semester and year nominations

Committee members:  Candi Pierce, Cari Heizer, Chandler Whitlock, Alesha Allen, Shane Blocker, Kristi Jones, Steve Roberts

Co-Chairs – Allen Fox & Sylvia Bradshaw

The Compensation Committee is dedicated to:

  • The study of issues such as salary, benefits and workload, as well as any unmet needs of the staff and campus community
  • Strive to improve the working conditions, benefits, salaries and professional status of its members as they help to fulfill the university mission
  • Foster good employee morale and work experiences for all DSU staff

Committee Members:

Co-Chairs – Michele Tisdale & Jonathan Morrell

The Dixie Development Day Committee is dedicated to:

  • Supporting DSU’s strategic plan efforts that relate to staff professional development and collaborating with the Human Resources department on these initiatives.
  • Planning the keynote speaker, breakout sessions, presenters, registration, marketing, catering, and volunteers

Committee Members:  Christine Arlotti, Andrea Brown, Sheila Cannon, Bev Clark, Jyl Hall, Amy Hofer, Rae Matalolo, Jan Maxfield, Dave Mortensen, Debi Robinson

Co-Chairs – Allison McMullin & Ali Threet

The Wellness Committee is dedicated to:

  • Promoting a climate where faculty and staff can become more engaged in healthy lifestyle behaviors through health and wellness resources, information, programs, and services.
  • Taking responsibility for one’s health and well-being is an essential part of a person’s ability to contribute to the work and mission of DSU. The committee works to alert the staff and faculty regarding health programs available at DSU and works together with the Wellness Center to provide services that staff and faculty desire.

Committee Members:

Chair – Cameron Draper

The Legislative Committee is dedicated to:

  • Work with UHESA’s legislative goals to push for cost of living increases across higher education
  • Be a respected voice with the Utah Legislature on issues that are affecting higher education
  • Promote and encourage staff involvement in the legislative process
  • Inform SA members on legislative action that is important to DSU staff
  • Promote being more politically active with our local State Representatives

Committee members:

Policy Steering

Representative – Nikki Dang

The Policy Steering Committee is dedicated to:

  • Representing the SA Board on the University Policy Steering Committee
  • Providing the SA Board with updates and information about policies affecting staff and campus
  • Supporting the policy development process
  • Assisting the University Policy Steering Committee

Committee members:

Chair – Tyson Pulsipher

The Professional Development Committee is dedicated to:

  • Supporting DSU’s strategic plan efforts that relate to staff professional development and collaborating with the Human Resources department on these initiatives
  • Identifying, offering, and supporting funding opportunities through the SA budget to supplement the costs of professional development activities for staff through an application-based process
  • Providing professional development opportunities and educating staff on the current process and opportunities available
  • Recommending University policy and procedure updates related to staff professional development

Committee members:  Christine Arlotti, Sheila Cannon, Bev Clark, Lisa Howard, Dave Mortensen, Candi Pierce, Ken Richmond, Debi Robinson

Chair – Roberta Cole

The Scholarship Committee is dedicated to:

  • Aiding in fund raising and awareness of the SA Scholarship Fund
  • Advertise and collect scholarship applications
  • Select scholarship recipient(s) based on the scholarship restrictions in an objective and nondiscriminatory basis
  • Balance scholarship account

Committee Members:  Alesha Allen, Tracey O’Kelly, Luke Wilkins

Chair – Bart Peacock

The Service Committee is dedicated to:

  • Raising awareness of service opportunities on campus and in the community
  • Creating hands-on community service projects, such as the Children’s Justice Center drive
  • Giving staff the opportunity to participate in a broad continuum of volunteer and fundraising activities that meet the needs and values of the campus and community

Committee Members: Vicki Peacock, Steve Azevedo, Valerie O’Rourke

Chair – Jonathan Morrell

The Staff Mentoring Committee is dedicated to:

  • Orientating new staff to the culture of DSU in order to help them be successful
  • Inviting and promoting staff association events to new employees
  • Pair new staff hired with an experienced staff mentor

Committee Members: Christy Jensen, Debbie Millet, Debi Roth-Carrillo, Deborah Decker, Dustin Johnson, Jan Maxfield, Jenn Stewart, Joyce Meyer, Pernel Wilfred, Quin Monson, Robyn Whipple, Seth Gubler, Shane Blocker, Tamron Lee, Tiffany Draper

Co-Chairs – Corey Reeves & Chance Steglich

The Welcome and Events committee is committed to:

  • Visiting all new staff employees. Visits will be made throughout the year. Visits include information about SA, a small DSU token, and tour of the SA website.
  • Encouraging interaction and collaboration between staff. During events, we honor/recognize SA member achievements, welcome new members, present/disseminate information and EAT!

Committee Members: Brooks Burr, Cheryl Brandt, Hannah Tua’one, Megan Church, Misty Frisbey, Scott Allen, Van Mangus